This is the "Genealogy & Local History" page of the "Halifax County Library System" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Halifax County Library System  

Your public library - more than books!
Last Updated: Mar 29, 2017 URL: http://halifaxnc.libguides.com/hcl Print Guide RSS Updates

Genealogy & Local History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Lookups and Research Help

Genealogy is an exciting but exacting and time-consuming pursuit.  Our local history person will be happy to help you get started as you begin the process of tracing your ancestors in Halifax and surrounding counties, and she can answer questions about how to use these resources.  Genealogy materials may not leave the library, but you may make copies for 25 cents a page.

Although we have materials that may contain births, marriages, and deaths in the area, we do not have birth, marriage, or death certificates.  We have abstracts of deed records, estates and wills, but not the full documents.

You can also find genealogical information at the Halifax County Register of Deeds.  Some of the records are:  real estate records dating back to 1732, marriage records dating back to October 1825, and birth and death records dating back to October 1913.

Please go to halifaxnc.com for more information or call the Register of Deeds office at 252-583-2101. 

 

The Halifax County Clerk of Courts Office has official wills dating back to the 1700's.  Wills are also located at the NC State Archives in Raleigh.

 

Getting Started with Genealogy

Tips for Getting Started:

1. Start with yourself and work backwards! 

2. Fill in a Family Tree with all the information you already know.

3. Collect information from your family through interviews, Bible, and other family records, and cemetery inscriptions.

 4. Prove, document, and record each generation before progressing.

 5. Do your own research to find proof, and cite original sources.

 

Some of the best sources to start with are:

Census Records and Vital Records (Birth, Marriage, and Death Records)

 

Websites for Genealogical Research

 

Where To Find Us

The library, located at 33 S. Granville Street in Historic Halifax, is a genealogist's dream. The collection, boasting more than 1,500 reels of microfilm and nearly 2,000 volumes of books, is the culmination of more than 50 years of work and maintenance.

 

North Carolina Online Collections

 

Halifax County

 

Halifax County Genealogical Society

The Halifax County Genealogical Society meets at 10 am at the Halifax County Library on the second Saturday of each month except in July and December.  Each month a new topic or speaker is featured.  You do not need to be a member to attend.  Ray Sasser, president of the society, will present a program in May on Revolutionary War ancestors.

 

 

Some Of Our Speakers


 Ginny Orvedahl, library director and Rev. Robert Alves

 

Ray Sasser, Halifax County Genealogical Society President and Monica Moody, Retired Site Manager, State Historic Site-Halifax

 

 

Databases for Genealogical Research

Heritage Quest

 Research materials for tracing family history and American culture. For beginning or professional genealogists. Available inside the library and at home with a Halifax County Library Card.


Ancestry Library Edition Unparalleled collection of resources for genealogical and historical research. Includes more than 4000 databases including the entire US Federal Census (1790-1940). Available only inside the library.

Ancestry Library Edition Information Guide:   http://proquest.libguides.com/ancestrylibraryedition

 

 

Help with Interviewing Family Members

 

Genealogy Tutorials

 

Links to Additional Genealogical Forms

 

Local Area Newspapers on Microfilm

Free Press and Southerner-Tarboro (March 26, 1824-Dec. 29, 1910)

The Daily Herald-Roanoke Rapids (May 1, 1914-December 31, 1980) (June 1,1990- Dec. 31, 2002)

The Roanoke News-Weldon- Broken dates beginning in Dec. 1867-1877, (1888-Feb. 16, 1989)

Scotland Neck Commonwealth (1882-1969) (1/5/72-12/29/76)  Missing 1945, 1951, 1962

Enfield Progress- Broken dates in 1887 & 1888 (1809-1973)

Enfield Sentinel (Dec. 2, 1880-July 21, 1881)

Enfield Times (April 12-Nov. 1873)

Roanoke Advocate-Halifax (Mar. 4, 1830-Feb. 1856)

Halifax Compiler (June 19, 1818-July 17, 1818)

Halifax Minerva (Jan. 24, 1829-Feb. 25, 1830)

Littleton Courier-Broken dates 1892

Littleton True Reformer-July 25, 1900 only

Littleton, The Times Herald-broken dates 1906-1909

Littleton, The News Reporter-broken dates 1902-1922

NC Patriot-Weldon- broken dates (1852-July 1867)

NC Journal- Halifax (July 26, 1792-Dec. 25, 1797

Warren Record (Dec. 15, 1892-Dec. 29, 1939)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip